Western Ghats
The Western Ghats constitute a narrow but long range of hills running from north to south along the western coast of India. The hills separate the narrow strip of the western coastal plains, one of the most industrialised regions in the country today, from the less developed and drier plateaus of the Deccan. The ghat (hilly) region is ecologically rich but economically poor. It gives rise to some of the major rivers of peninsular India.

The Western Ghats extend from Gujarat to Kerala, traversing the states of Maharashtra, Goa and Karnataka. In Gujarat, they cover the tribal district of Dangs and a small area of Surat and Valsad. In Maharashtra, the western slopes of the Western Ghats sit astride the districts of Thane, Kulaba and Ratnagiri, while the eastern slopes extend into the districts of Dhule, Nashik, Ahmadnagar, Pune, Satara, Sangli and Kolhapur. In Karnataka, the western slopes extend into the districts of Uttar and Dakshina Kanara while the eastern slopes touch Belgaum, Shimoga, Chikmagalur, Hassan and Kodagu. Almost all the districts of Kerala lie on the western slopes of the Western Ghats, namely, the districts of Cannanore, Kozhikode, Mallapuram, Trichur, Ernakulam, Kottayam, Quilon and Thiruvananthapuram. The districts of Wynad and Idukki lie almost entirely within the ghats, and the district of Palghat lies within a gap in the Western Ghats. The ghats end as low hills in the Kanyakumari district of Tamil Nadu, situated at the southern tip of India. The eastern flanks of the Western Ghats extend into Tirunelveli, Ramanathpuram and Madurai districts of Tamil Nadu.

Find more about
Techniques prevalent in this region
- Traditional

People who harvest rain

Center for Science & Environment CSE Store Equity Watch Gobar Times Down to Earth